The Constitution and By-Laws of


The purpose of this club shall be to unite and bind together all Sportsmen; to have a general meeting place to exchange views and solve problems confronting the members and to harmonize their ideas; to assist the State and Federal Game, Fish and Forestry Organizations; to work for and encourage proper management of all natural resources, without political interference, and to promote and protect the best interest of the Sportsmen of the district.


Article I

The name of this organization shall be THE BLACK FOREST CONSERVATION ASSOCIATION, INC. (Incorporated August 19, 1935).

article ii

The club shall meet once each month of the year to discuss various problems and rulings that may arise. Each active member shall have an equal voice in questions coming before the club, and will be entitled to one vote (an active member shall have his dues fully paid for the year and must have attended at least two (2) of the past twelve (12) meetings.)

No business shall be transacted unless a quorum is present. A quorum shall consist of seven (7) members.

All questions shall be decided by viva voce unless a motion is called for a vote by ballot.

The Secretary shall keep a record of all action taken on the floor of the club’s meetings, including a list of all members attending.

Article III

The club shall promote:

First – The conservation of all natural resources.

Second – Hunter education and safety.

Third – Harmony between sportsmen and landowners.

Fourth – Close cooperation with all natural resource managers (Game Protectors, Waterways Patrolmen, Foresters, etc.)

Article IV

The officers of the club shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and a Board of Trustees to be elected from members of the club whose dues are fully paid for the year in which elected and to be fully paid during their term. The Trustees shall be elected for a term of five years, one to be elected each year at the regular election. The line officers cannot also be elected as a trustee. Chairmen of standing or temporary committees shall be appointed by the President for a term of one year or until such time as the committee is abolished, whichever comes first. One exception is that the chairman of the Property Committee shall be the current senior trustee. Standing committees shall include but not be limited to: 1. Gun show, 2. archery ranger, 3. rifle range, 4. trap shooting, 5. property, 6. membership, and 7. house rules.

Article V

There shall be three classes of memberships – regular, life and family. Membership is for the period from November first of one year to October thirty–first of the next year following.

Article VI

The meetings shall be held once each month on the first Friday of each month. The place of meeting shall be at the clubhouse on Jenkins Hill, or at a suitable place chosen, and the members given advance notice.

Article VII

The Constitution and By-Laws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of all active members present at a regular meeting of the club. Any proposed changes to the Constitution or By-Laws must be presented at a regular meeting at least one month prior to their adoption.

Article VIII

In the event the club is disbanded, all assets shall be divided equally between the Pennsylvania Fish and Game Commissions, to be used at their discretion.




  • President

It shall be the duty of the President to preside at all meetings of the association; and see that the meeting is conducted in an orderly manner and as briefly as issues on the floor will permit.

He shall have the power to call special meetings and fill any vacancies.

He shall further be empowered to appoint all committees for the purpose of carrying on all approved activities of the association, and shall be an ex-officio member of all committees. Committee appointments may be challenged by the membership if just cause is shown and approved by a two-thirds majority vote.

  • Vice–President 

The Vice-President shall assist the President when necessary and shall preside at all meetings in the absence of the President.

He shall be an ex-officio member of all committees.

  • Secretary

The Secretary shall keep accurate minutes of all association meetings and shall have custody of all books and papers of the association and conduct all correspondence.

He shall make and keep on file a copy of all correspondence sent out in the name of THE BLACK FOREST CONSERVATION ASSOCIATION, INC. and such copies to be read.

He shall report all bills on the floor of the council for approval and such other duties as may pertain to the office and the report of the minutes.

  • Treasurer

The duties of the Treasurer shall consist of custodianship of all the monies of the association. He shall give a receipt for all monies received and deposit such monies in the name of THE BLACK FOREST CONSERVATION ASSOCIATION, INC. in a bank approved by this association.

He shall pay all bills approved by the membership.

He shall keep correct account of all monies received and disbursements made and shall give a report of same at each club meeting.

He shall be an ex–officio member of all committees.

Both secretary and treasurer offices may be vested in one person, and said person is entitled to only one vote on committees and floor votes.

  • Trustees

The Trustees shall have the keeping of all properties of the club. Their term of office shall be five (5) years. One to be elected at each election of officers in November of each year. Vacancies caused by death or non-membership shall be filled by early election. A line officer cannot serve as an elected trustee.

Article II

Only special business shall be conducted at any special meeting called by the President, and full details shall be given at the next regular meeting. In the event the President will not call a special meeting, the executive committee (remaining line officers and board of trustees) may call a meeting if approved by a two-third majority vote.

Article III

Elections shall be conducted completely at the November meeting each year.

The President shall call for nominations, appoint an election committee to distribute ballots and count votes.

The President shall announce results of the election.

Newly elected officers shall take office at the next meeting after their election each year.

The order of business may be changed at the pleasure of the President.


  1. Roll call of officers.
  2. Reading of minutes of the previous meeting and their approval.
  3. Committee Reports
  4. Treasurer’s report and payment of bills.
  5. Old business
  6. Communications
  7. New Business
  8. Election of Officers (when due)
  9. Introduction of guests
  10. Good and welfare of the order.